Lake Norman Bob

Random Topic: Discrete Mathematics

Shhh… We’re talking about Mathematics, Discretely, of course

So what is dis math?

When I was in college, I had to take Discrete Math. I’ll be honest I had no idea what hell I was doing most of the time in that course. It started off simple with Boolean logic, but then came to writing proofs, oh god did I hate writing proofs. And proofs by inductictions, don’t get me started! What the hell were you supposed to prove? Prove something that somehow proves something else?

Anyways the only way I could describe discrete math to my dad (who was a middle school math teacher) was this: “You know how 1 + 1 = 2?…Why?”

Topics

Boolean logic

Loved it

proofs

Made me realize how much I hate mathematicians

Pigeon Hole Principle

The most pointless lazy idea ever thought of, with the stupidest name ever. Of course if I two buckets and three apples, than at least one bucket will have two apples. It’s common sense, I don’t need some stupid sounding principle to let me know how many apples will go in the buckets!!

Finite state Automatons

Oh shit just got real. I’m out

Conclusion

Welp hope you enjoyed my first random topic. It’s been a couple years since I last blogged, so you used a random topic generator. It came Discrete Math, and I thought yeah let’s do this.

Welp, Good Night

published without proofreading or previewing

Image